Friends, Beaches, Flea Markets & Memories: A School Trip To Goa

The year 2016. As we were all set to leave the school life behind us, we yet had some memories to add on to take with us. Goa was calling us!!! 4 years ago, this month of the year, our school announced an annual trip to Goa.

As it was a school trip, some senior teachers were with us and so were the rules and regulations. Patriarchy also followed us, when boys got separate rooms per 4 students and girls got two villas, that they shared with female teachers. Luckily, we got our separate rooms, perks of being senior students, I guess.

The first day was all about Anjuna Beach and the market there. There was this beautiful market set on both sides of the path, which made us want to do some shopping.

All the students went straight to the beach and hit the water. I, on the other hand, stayed on the shore. I fear water. I have had my fair share of misfortune around water bodies, so I maintained my distance! But seeing them playing around, having the best time of our lives, was everything. I ended up having a good conversation with one of the senior teachers turned out we share the fear of water.

The real journey began the next day. We explored different parts of South goa. From St. Francis Xavier Church to Panjim Market to Dona Paula and ending the day with an exceptional cruise in the evening. The cruise started by welcoming us with their folk dances and then giving the stage to couples to dance. We saw all these beautiful couples, dancing and exchanged glances with each other.

The resort had an open bar, well it was goa after all. The nights were all about people trying to sneak in some beers and have the time of their lives. It was all fun, till the inspection would begin and our vice principal would check on the boys, only to find rooms filled with smoke and mini-fridges filled with beers. He let it all pass, ‘boys will be boys!’ according to him.

Girls would go to their villa early, and I don’t know, do what all night with teachers in the next room. I didn’t mind it back then, but now that I think of it, Patriarchy did had a lot to with it, didn’t it? Well, let’s not go there for now. I guess they would just hang in their room, talking about stuff and having fun. My friends and I would make prank calls from the landline provided by the hotel, and I must say those were some great and classic pranks.

The next morning we were given time to enjoy in the pool, the resort had two pools, one in near entrance where our rooms were, and another one in the backside of the villas, guess which one did the girls get? Yep. The back one, not that it was that bad, the pool we got was much bigger than the boys. But it wasn’t the reason we got it, and that is what was wrong! Well, we did enjoy the pool, and as usual, I had to be carried around in the water. Overall it was all fun girls swam and race and enjoyed themselves. Whereas one of the boys broke another’s nose while trying to do a backflip, I guess, boys will be boys?!

We headed to Fort Aguada, Baga, and Calangute Beach the same day. Nobody was prepared for another beach day, I mean so many beaches and so little time. Still, everyone else went and enjoyed themselves in the water. The same teacher from last time, helped me pick some gifts for my mother. She basically bargained for me and got me a jute bag in the price I could’ve never asked the shopkeeper for, so thanks for that, ma’am. Taught me bargaining without actually teaching it!

I like bus rides, all the fun that we have, signing and dancing and playing antakshari sitting in the last seat of the bus. I guess our teachers didn’t like it much. The bad girls’ gang had to give their numbers to them in case we don’t return to the bus on time when we stopped to shop in the Panjim market. The irony was, we waited for the teachers to come back so that we could leave. But it was the last day so we didn’t mind it.

I remember the DJ party at night as we concluded the trip by dancing our asses off. I’ll never forget that night.

The real fun we had was on the train when we shared the compartment with our junior boys, we shared our stories from the trip. Also made a friend among them. So that was something good.

All and all, this trip was a memorable one. Because it was sure, once we left the school none of us would meet for a trip like this again.

But we couldn’t enjoy Goa the right way and didn’t even explore so many places we should have so I hope that we make it happen soon. Probably as a reunion or something.

Leave a comment